SDAA510 October   2026 AM2431 , AM2432 , AM2434 , AM620-Q1 , AM623 , AM625 , AM625-Q1 , AM625SIP , AM6411 , AM6412 , AM6421 , AM6422 , AM6441 , AM6442

 

  1.   1
  2.   Abstract
  3.   Trademarks
  4. 1Introduction
  5. 2Software Setup
  6. 3Hardware Setup
    1. 3.1 J-Link Connection
    2. 3.2 AM243x/AM64x Connection
  7. 4Verifying Connection
    1. 4.1 Power Sequence
    2. 4.2 Verify Connection
  8. 5Flashing with J-Link on AM243x/AM64x
  9. 6Debugging with J-Link on AM243x/AM64x
  10. 7Troubleshooting
  11. 8Summary
  12. 9References

Flashing with J-Link on AM243x/AM64x

To Flash the AM243x/AM64x EVM, use J-Flash. J-Flash is a stand-alone flash programming software for PCs running Windows, Linux or macOS.

J-Flash has an intuitive user interface and makes programming flash devices convenient. J-Flash requires a J-Link / Flasher as an interface to the target hardware.

Below are the steps to flash the hello world example using J-Flash.

Steps to Flash using J-Flash:

  1. Keep the AM243x/AM64x EVM in DEV BOOT mode.
     DEV
                                                  Boot Figure 5-1 DEV Boot
  2. Once the boot mode is set and EVM is turned on. Follow the steps mentioned at Verify Connection.
  3. After successful connection, run the following commands from J-Link Commander(J-Link.exe).
    halt  // Halt R5FSS0_CORE0
    //
    // !!! TODO: Update TI AM243x/AM64x SDK path !!!
    //
    loadfile "C:\TI\mcu_plus_sdk_{device}_{version}\tools\ccs_load\\{device}\sciclient_ccs_init.release.out" 
    setpc 0x0 	// Set program counter to start of RAM
    go 		// Start R5FSS0_CORE0
    exit		// Close J-Link Commander
  4. After successful execution of above commands, run J-Flash.exe
  5. Click on Create New Project -> Start J-Flash -> Choose AM243x_R5_0.
  6. Select the Target Interface as JTAG and enable Flash banks.
     J-Flash Config Figure 5-2 J-Flash Config
  7. Click OK and navigate to File -> Open Data File -> Select the SBL tiboot3.bin. The file is available at {MCU_SDK}\examples\drivers\boot\\{sbl}\\{evm}\\{core}\\{compiler}\tiboot3.bin.
  8. Enter the start address as 0x60000000. (starting address of flash)
  9. Navigate to Target -> Production Programming.
  10. Copy the appimage/mcelf file of hello_world program which needs to be flashed. The hello world mcelf file will be generated at path {MCU_SDK}\examples\hello_world\\{evm}\\{core}\\{compiler}.
  11. Change the extension of copied file to *.bin.
  12. Navigate to File -> Open Data File -> Select the hello_world.{debug|release}.mcelf.hs_fs.bin file.
  13. Enter the start address as 0x60200000. (Flash offset from where SBL expects appimage to be present).

After successful execution of above steps, the binaries are now flashed. Change the boot mode to OSPI and the user can see the OSPI SBL and Hello world logs onto the UART console after the EVM is turned on.

 OSPI Boot Figure 5-3 OSPI Boot

After successfully flashing an image which contains an SBL, successive flash programming operations can be executed in SPI Boot Mode without requiring the initialization steps one through three and the steps in the codeblock. See the following documentation from SEGGER J-Link for Flashing purpose.

  1. For AM243x SoC Init - Initializing_the_DMSC
  2. For AM64xx SoC Init- Initializing_the_DMSC
  3. Getting started with J-Flash - JFlash_Getting_Started